News and Highlights

Highlights from the 2011 Emory State of the School Address

The Emory School of Medicine is home to more than 2000 faculty members, thousands of staff, more than 1000 residents and fellows and more than 450 medical students, -- a lot of wonderful accomplishments for the Dean to choose from. So it is with great pride, I share the following Department of Emergency Medicine achievements that Dean Lawley chose to highlight in his 30 minute presentation:

  • SOM Curriculum Advances: The Capstone Course: Dr. Sheryl Heron and Dr. Jason Liebzeit
  • 2010-11 Dean's Teaching Award: Dr. Sheryl Heron
  • National (SAEM) Young Educator Award: Dr. Josh Wallenstein
  • President of The Society of Chest Pain Centers: Dr. Michael Ross
  • President of a National Specialty Society: Dr. Deb Houry
  • Dean's Faculty Advisory Committee: Dr. Philip Shayne
  • Promotion to Professor: Dr. Douglas Ander
  • Research Game Changer: Dr. Donald Stein
  • Director, Center for Palliative Care: Dr. Tammie Quest
  • NIH Rankings: Emory Emergency Medicine #1 in the nation! Go Eagles -- third year in a row

Katherine L. Heilpern, M.D.
Ada Lee and Pete Correll Professor and Chair
Department of Emergency Medicine
Emory University School of Medicine

EM Calendar